Follow palashbiswaskl on Twitter

Sunday, September 29, 2013

Srinivasan re-elected as BCCI president, Ranjib Biswal appointed IPL chairman

Srinivasan re-elected as BCCI president, Ranjib Biswal appointed IPL chairman

N SrinivasanN Srinivasan has been re-elected as the BCCI president in Board's AGM today

AGM highlights:

* Ranjib Biswal appointed IPL chairman

* Sanjay Patel elected Secretary, Anirudh Chaudhry elected


* Five vice-presidents elected unopposed

* Amitabh Choudhary to head BCCI marketing committee, T C

Mathew named National Cricket Academy chairman

* G Gangaraju named head of BCCI finance committee

Brushing aside intense criticism and questions of probity, N Srinivasan was elected unopposed as BCCI President for a third year during the Board's AGM in Chennai even though he will not take charge till further orders from the Supreme Court.

Srinivasan was the lone Presidential candidate put forward by the South Zone, from where he got the proposer and the seconder.

The AGM asserted Srinivasan's supremacy in India's richest sporting body with not even a single voice of dissent being heard during the proceedings of the day.

But he can resume his duties only after the Supreme Court gives its final verdict on the case filed against his candidature by the Cricket Association of Bihar secretary Aditya Verma.

The choice of the various sub-committees bore ample testimony to Srinivasan's stranglehold on the organisation as all the executive functionaries as well as the heads of the important panels are perceived to be close to the Chennai strongman.

Srinivasan's election was on expected lines despite the fact that he had his back against the wall on the issue of propriety after his son-in-law and Chennai Super Kings Team Principal Gurunath Meiyappan was charge-sheeted in the IPL betting and spot-fixing scandal.

Srinivasan's company India Cements owns Chennai Super Kings.

In another important decision, Ranjib Biswal, the Odisha Cricket Association chief, was named the IPL chairman, a post left vacant by Rajiv Shukla, who decided to resign at the end of his tenure this year.

Biswal, a former India under-19 captain and first-class cricketer, was the manager of the Indian team during the 2011 World Cup triumph and was also a former chairman of the National Cricket Academy.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


Website counter


Blog Archive