Follow palashbiswaskl on Twitter

Thursday, January 14, 2016

Press Invite for the protest meeting against GN Saibaba's rearrest on 16 January!

Press Invite for the protest meeting against GN Saibaba's rearrest on 16 January!

Dear Friends,

The Committee for the Defense and Release of Dr. G.N. Saibaba, Delhi University Teachers' Association along with several other students', teachers', civil liberties, women's and workers' organizations and various left political parties are holding a United Protest meeting in front of the Arts Faculty in Delhi University on the 16th of January (Saturday), 2pm to 5pm. The meeting will be addressed by several teachers, intellectuals, academicians, students, workers, artists, and civil liberty and democratic rights activists. 

This meeting is taking place in the context of rearrest of Dr Saibaba and the High Court order that rejected his bail and sent him back to the notorious anda cell of Nagpur Central Jail on the 23rd of December. Saibaba who was in the middle of taking crucial treatments for various ailments has already written a letter to inform about his deteriorating health condition inside the hostile prison in this inclement weather. His treatment has been forcibly stopped by this order and the jail authority is refusing to even provide him with adequate winter-wear. For a 90% disabled and wheel chair bound professor who is suffering from life threatening ailments, the hostile bounds of prison, for his 'crime' of being a dissenting voice against the powers that be, is unacceptable and criminal. Before we challenge the unjust order of the Nagpur Bench of the Bombay High court in the Supreme Court, let us raise our voices of protest against the unjust incarceration of Dr. Saibaba and demand that he should be released without any further delay.

Some of the speakers who will address the meeting on 16th of January:
Prof. G. Haragopal 
Prof. Manoranjan Mohanty 
Prof. Neshat Quaissar
Prof. Ali Javed
Prof. S.N. Malakar
D. Raja (Member of Parliament, CPI)
Mrigank (CPIM-L New Democracy)
Ashok bhowmick (Jasam)
Harish Dhawan (PUDR)
Ish Mishra (Janhastakshep)
Manisha Shethi (JTSA)
Goplaji Pradhan (AUDFA)
and many other teachers from DU, JNU, Jamia, AUD and many others.

We appeal to your media house to send a representative to cover the programme and the campaign to release Saibaba.

Thanking you
Nandita Narain (DUTA President)

Committee for the Defence and Release of Dr. G.N. Saibaba, DUTA, Aahwan, AISA,AISF,AUDFA,BAPSA,Bhor,BSCEM,Collective,CPI, CPIML(Liberation),CPIML(NewDemocracy),CPIML(NewProletariat),Disha, DSF, DSU, DTF, IFTU,IMK,JNUSU, JSM, JTSA, KNS, KYS, LSM, Marxwadi Vichar Manch, Morcha, NSI,Nowruz, Pachhas, PDFI, PMAP, RIB, Samajwadi Janparishad,  Sangwari, Sanhati, SFI, TNM & others
Pl see my blogs;

Feel free -- and I request you -- to forward this newsletter to your lists and friends!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


Website counter


Blog Archive